LibGuides: Native American Law: Laws

Tribal Laws & Materials

Tribal Codes In Print

Tribal Codes Online

National Indian Law Library - Tribal Law Gateway
Tribal codes, court opinions, and other legal materials from more than 300 participating tribes.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project - Tribal Codes
"This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents." Constitutions and codes on this website are for research only. For official documents please contact the tribe directly or the National Indian Law Library.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Tribal Laws/Codes
"The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is a comprehensive website established in June 1997 to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country." The Codes section of the website links to tribal laws organized by subject matter.

Subscription Databases

Indigenous Peoples of the Americas Collection via HeinOnline - Constitutions, Acts & Bylaws
Acts, resolutions, charters, constitutions, and bylaws for a number of different tribes. Coverage varies.
Westlaw - Tribal Codes
Contains statutes and related materials for various tribes. Coverage varies.
Lexis - Native American Law Practice Center
This practice center contains editorially enhanced and curated content and tools covering Native American law. Includes federal and tribal primary sources, including Tribal Codes.

Federal U.S. Laws & Materials

Treaties

HeinOnline - Native American Treaties
Part of the American Indian Law Collection, which also contains treaty related publications.
Lexis - Native American People Treaties
Contains full-text of ratified and unratified treaties from 1787 through 1883.
Westlaw - Federal Native American Treaties
Includes full-text documents of Native American Indian treaties with the U.S. government. These and other materials are collected in Westlaw's Native American Law Practice Area.
Oklahoma State University Libraries - Tribal Treaties Database
The Tribal Treaties Database is a free public resource that includes agreements between tribal nations and the United States (1778-1886) published in the 1904 work “Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties” (Volume II), compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. You can search for treaties by name, tribe, or location.

Indian Affairs: Law & Treaties

This compilation includes acts of Congress relating to treaties between the United States and Native Americans from 1902-1971. It follows the format of Statutes at Large with notes in the margins. Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler.

Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
The print version is located in the Government Documents section on the Library's Upper Level.
HathiTrust - Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
HeinOnline - Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
Oklahoma State University - Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties

Federal Statutes

United States Code

Most federal statutes dealing with Indian Law may be found in Title 25 of the United States Code.

Official United States Code
The print version is located on the Library's Entry Level.
govinfo - United States Code
HeinOnline - United States Code
Lexis - United States Code Service
Westlaw - United States Code Annotated

Other Relevant Statutes

Westlaw - Federal Native American Law Statutes & Court Rules
Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Federal Laws
This site contains general background information on how federal laws are codified, with highlights and commentaries on specific chapters of the United States Code relating to Indian Nations.

Legislative Histories

Federal Legislative History

American Indian & Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899
This collection includes House and Senate documents and reports from Congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. Executive branch documents are also included.
HeinOnline - American Indian Law Legislative Histories
Part of the American Indian Law Collection, this section contains compiled legislative histories on select federal laws.
National Indian Law Library - Passed & Proposed Legislation
Proquest Congressional
U.S. Congressional publications including: bills, hearings, committee reports, the Congressional Record, compiled legislative histories, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, campaign contribution and financial information, voting record information, and congressional news sources.
Proquest Legislative Insight
This federal legislative history database contains compilations of full-text publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws. It also includes legislative histories for public laws from the 1st Congress (1789) to the current Congress.
United State Senate Committee on Indian Affairs - Legislation

State Legislative History

Statewide Tribal Legislation Database
This National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) database contains introduced, pending, and enacted legislative bills from U.S. state and territorial legislatures. Information available from 2010-current legislative sessions.

General Resources

Indigenous Law Portal
Indigenous Law resources from the Library of Congress.
Native American Rights Fund: National Indian Law Library

Native American Law

Guide Author

Contact the Library