Native American Law

Tribal, Appeals, or Supreme Court opinions from several American tribal courts. Pay attention to coverage dates, especially when using the online resource.

Tribal Law & Policy Institute, along with VersusLaw©, has a searchable database of fully annotated Tribal Court opinions, memorandums and orders from several Tribal Courts.

"Editorially enhanced and curated content and tools" covering Native American law. Includes federal and tribal primary sources, current and in-depth news and analysis and "Key Topics" covering selected sub-issues. Includes court decisions from various tribes.

Westlaw databases for court decisions from various tribes. Coverage varies. These and other materials are collected in the Native American Law Practice Area.

"Cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, courts of appeals, district courts, bankruptcy courts, Court of Federal Claims, U.S. Tax Court, military courts, and related federal and territorial courts that relate to peoples native to the United States. Coverage begins with 1789." These and other materials are collected in the Native American Law Practice Area.

The purpose of NARF's Tribal Supreme Court Project is "to promote greater coordination and to improve strategy on litigation that may affect the rights of all Indian tribes." As part of that project, the website compiles briefs and opinions on the cases NARF tracks.

"Editorially enhanced and curated content and tools" covering Native American law. Includes federal and tribal primary sources, current and in-depth news and analysis and "Key Topics" covering selected sub-issues. Links to Lexis' federal and state court cases databases.

"Provides links to all Federal Courts and case summaries of Indian law cases decided by the United States Supreme Court from 1991 through 2008 with links to the court syllabus, the full opinions for each case, and all dissents. This page also contains information concerning Indian law cases pending before the U.S. Supreme Court during the current term."